Martin Yeates – Olympus, Ricoh & me

A picture is worth a thousand words

Wing and a prayer

with 2 comments

One of the most attractive features of the gr 3 is its diminutive size coupled together with the quality of result it produces, I had it with me yesterday as well as the e620 which I did use but not before I went walkabout with the gr 3..

I love the way folk are not threatened by it in the hand, they almost look dismissively as though thinking “yet another bloody tourist” it is this perception which aids in getting some of the shots I might otherwise not have taken. I tend to shoot mainly raw files and the write speeds have increased dramatically over the previous model, should you not wish to bother with the raw, the fine jpeg setting is instant and the quality astonishing.

The one thing above all though is its portability, it fits in my pocket, the wide attachment fits in the other, I purchased the Lowe pro apex 100 to cart it about as everything fits in it and it weighs next to nothing, added to which it’s waterproof.. Yesterday the lowe pro was in the car, the wide was in one pocket the camera in the other, it doesn’t get better than this. I walked passed a number of other like minded individuals all of whom were groaning under the weight of the kit they had with them, I just smiled to myself and continued on my way. It is a liberating feeling…

Written by Moonshine

March 18, 2010 at 10:34 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fabulous angle and patterns, I love the contrast between the blue and the white.

    deceptive

    March 18, 2010 at 2:41 pm

  2. Bonsoir,
    An amazing composition..Beautiful lightness..Bravo!

    jelb

    March 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm


Leave a Reply

